5-Htp Reviews


Lucy 's avatar  Lucy 24/02/2013 16:30

My husband just started taking 5htp last week, and he is a completely different person as a result. I came across these posts because I was looking for the side effects of this product and peoples' reactions to this supplement, due to the drastic change in my husband's behavior. He was always irritable and couldn't handle emotional issues, even the most normal every day type of situations. This always made me think he had some sort of an imbalance, chemical or otherwise. He was becoming progressively more irrate about the most minute of problems. He was unbearable to be around, and it was destroying our relationship. I can't even explain the relief and the hope I now have for him, and for us.

I am not an advocate of this product, because I don't know the long term side effects, or the "negatives" in general.. But I can share what a 180 degree change I have seen and what a positive effect it has had on him.. Absolutely flabbergasting! Almost seems too good to be true.. that's how effective this supplement is. If anyone has any info on possible negative long term or short term side effects, please do share..

25 people liked this.
Skitzoidlady 's avatar  Skitzoidlady 02/04/2014 15:51

I took it for six months straight and had no problems. It was a God send for me as well. However, 5-HTP might not take care of the underlying problem of his irritability. I found that a couple of self help books, therapy, and 5-HTP in combination relieved me of years of depression. The 5-HTP help me to get out of the worst of it, the therapy helped me to stay out for good.

8 people liked this.
Wolf 's avatar  Wolf 01/08/2013 16:40

How is he doing now?

4 people liked this.
bbtt 's avatar  bbtt 29/03/2014 17:35

looking for an effective dose 5 htp time release

Alana 's avatar  Alana 16/08/2014 11:24

Natrol is the only time released brand of 5 HTP I could locate

1 person liked this.
Nicky 's avatar  Nicky 30/12/2013 09:39

Hi I take 5htp I take it for time of the month,and it does help,
But 12 months ago I went for blood tests because of my pmt,and feeling tired,my liver enzymes were high,the doctor thinks it's because of the 5htp... But I was also taking fish oil capsules. So it could have been those. I would suggest you go to doc n check this out for yourself...best wishes nicky

Amanda Oz Staff 's avatar  Amanda Oz Staff 18/01/2013 20:43

The Dr. Oz Show is looking for 5-HTP weight loss success stories! If you're a female in the NY-Tristate area, we want to hear from you! arocco@zoco.com

16 people liked this.
carlotapopota 's avatar  carlotapopota 22/01/2013 00:39

Can You mix 5htp with rhodiola? (5htp At Night And rhodiola in the morning?)

7 people liked this.
Olena 's avatar  Olena 01/02/2012 02:40

Reloqueen, I know what you mean! I suffered from restless leg syndrome too, and 5HTP  worsened it significantly when I took it before bedtime. HOWEVER, I started taking a B-Complex vitamin and iron supplements, and my RLS went away completely. Now I don't have a problem taking 5HTP, and its effects on my mood and appetite are amazing!

5 people liked this.
Nemesis 's avatar  Nemesis 08/07/2014 06:48

Hello Eveyone,Good day
My Question is if anyone used 5-HTP and had any skin disease or skin disorders?
Thank you for your time

4 people liked this.
MrOmega 's avatar  MrOmega 21/12/2012 09:59

Yes, I finished off a bottle. Anxiety levels are extremely low and I've gone through a period that typically would have had me raging significantly more than I did. Also, once finishing the bottle, I slept quite a bit and seem to be napping more often. Might have taken a little too much too fast. No syndrome effect, but perhaps not fullying enjoying the smooth bore feeling. Will not be buying another bottle anytime soon. I do recommend this stuff to others though if they take in moderation. I am not a pharmacologist.

4 people liked this.
Reloqueen 's avatar  Reloqueen 28/12/2011 01:55

I suffer with Restless Legs Syndrome.  I can't take any of the SSRI (Selective Serotonin Re-uptake Inhibitors) antidepressants.  5-HTP made the condition unbearable.  Torture! 

4 people liked this.
Judd 's avatar  Judd 05/12/2011 05:42

I tried this and it made me kind of stupid, I could only do or think about one thing at a time, so it was hard at work too. I took a shower and was using body wash in my hair and then after I was done I thought to myself wait a minute...this isn't shampoo! lol I took 50mg and tried 100mg also, I was not like this before I took 5-HTP and after I stopped taking it my brain went back to normal. Weird it makes me stupid, I'm glad it works for other people though.

17 people liked this.
Maya 's avatar  Maya 21/05/2013 13:55

I started taking 5HTP after suffering from anxiety and mild depression. I had difficulties concentrating and I was just miserable. Ever since I started taking 5HTP I feel much better, I feel more accepting of things and I am able to concentrate for longer periods of time. I don't have this rage within me anymore, I don't have obsessive thoughts and I don't wonder around in my mind anymore. It also helps with apatite regulation (not that I need it) but I don't crave sweets, fatty and salty food as often.

I take 5HTP with L-tyrosine , L-Dopa (one of each in the morning) without food. After breakfast I take a vitamin supplement.


I only take 100 mg of 5HTP, 150mg of L-Dopa and 450 mg of L-tyrosine, it might be different for everybody but so far this works for me. I suggest that you do not take L-Dopa before going to bed because it will keep you awake, 5HTP itself before bed is fine.


Also, do not take 5HTP if you are on any medication (SSRIs, MAOs - Prozac, Zoloft etc). Do not take L-Dopa if you have Parkinson without talking to your doctor and do not take L-tyrosine if you have or have had a thyroid problem and have been taking medication for it, please consult your doctor.

2 people liked this.
Guest 's avatar  Guest 01/02/2013 14:30

I have been taking 5htp for a while now and it works a treat. i am now on the road to recovery from a long battle with depression.

2 people liked this.
dennisR 's avatar  dennisR 03/06/2014 23:03

I have tried a few different products - best so far has been the 5-HTP patches. I always forget tablets - so they really worked for me, plus they release the 5-HTP slowly.

1 person liked this.
Emilie Brown 's avatar  Emilie Brown 24/06/2014 10:52

I have used the patches too, they are really good.

Skitzoidlady 's avatar  Skitzoidlady 02/04/2014 15:44

After suffering for years from severe clinical depression, I started on a regimen of 5-HTP together with therapy. My psychiatrist was upset that I wouldn't take the SSRI's he prescribed, but I'd heard too many horror stories. Let's see... one of the side effects is depression and suicidal tendencies? Um... I was already battling depression and suicidal ideation. This stuff was a GOD SEND. I would recommend it to anyone suffering from depression and/or anxiety! I recommend that people suffering from depression and anxiety read Michael Murray's books on the subject of 5-HTP as well.

With that stated, I am 52 years old, 2 years post hysterectomy for severe fibroid issues, kept my ovaries, but believe I am now going through menopause. How is one supposed to know if they've entered menopause when they no longer have a period, other than the described symptoms? I seem to have them all, so am going to assume I am there.

I've been reading about natural therapies for menopause, and 5-HTP came up a couple of times. If nothing else, it might help with my sleep given the fact that night sweats are keeping me up all night. Plus I've notice a little minor depression recently. Whether it helps or not, we shall see. It definitely cannot hurt.

By the way, I am not Skitzoid. I write short drama scripts, hence the name.

1 person liked this.
Pixie 's avatar  Pixie 08/01/2014 02:43

I have had insomnia, panic attacks, anxiety and mild depression off and on for years. The anxiety is often very bad at night. I've taken prescription meds in the past but I always end up going off them due to the side effects. I started taking 5-HTP about 5 days ago after reading about it on a blog. Just 100mg at night before bed. My sleep immediately improved and I am suddenly aware that I am dreaming. I didn't even realize that I possibly wasn't dreaming. I just thought maybe I am one of those people that doesn't recall dreams well. Makes me wonder if I was ever even reaching REM sleep at night. I am waking up more refreshed and happy and I am way more patient and less irritable during the day (maybe because I am finally sleeping well, I don't know...but I like it!) I find myself smiling more and I'm way more patient with my kids. Win Win for all here!

1 person liked this.
Henry 's avatar  Henry 25/02/2013 02:41

My chiropractor suggested 5htp for my stress. It took about 5-6 weeks before I noticed a change but it was good. It not only reduced my stress but also my migraines and eating habits. I have been taking 5htp for about 6 months with no bad reactions. I had to take strong pain medications for the migraines and this has reduced my intake by about 75 percent and still getting better.. Remember to have some patience as it did take a while before I noticed any changes

1 person liked this.
Nicky 's avatar  Nicky 30/12/2013 18:24

Hi,after reading your review I thought I'd let you know about the mineral magnesium,how good it is for migraines...look into it but I take it three times a day 100mg capsules..I hope this helps you
Nicky

Greg Monet 's avatar  Greg Monet 30/10/2014 21:45

Who has the best product - looking for best quality (but not crazy prices). If I am going to give 5 HTP a shot - want to make sure I am getting something that works.

Tee 's avatar  Tee 19/10/2014 18:42

I started taking 5-htp along with holy basil, I have had really good results. My reaction to external stressors are much calmer and I have a more positive outlook. I'm not as easily overwhelmed by daily tasks or socializing as I used to be. It wasn't a vague change for me because I was really down for years, it was very noticeable. I read good and bad reviews on both supplements. I'm glad I dint follow the bad, we all respond differently. By all means give it 2 months or so, if your not having negative reactions that is.

Nicole 's avatar  Nicole 04/08/2014 21:02

I had a customer come in and told me about 5htp and how it helps her stabilize her mood. I thought WOW... I have in the past couple years suffered with anger, anxiety , depression and just being ill all the time. I just kept thinking this is not normal..... I am 24 yrs old and I should be able to be happy every now and then not always worried and or get so upset over the smallest things for days. That was about a month ago and then I had an anxiety attack for the first time going down the rd the other day... for no reason at all. I decided it was time to try and make a change. I am tired of being so tense and up tight all the time. I hope this 5htp gives me some kind of release!!!

sarah 's avatar  sarah 13/07/2014 11:23

i used 5htp almost two years ago and found it to be a subtle but significant help with my anxiety disorder. A word of warning!!!! do not start to take any dose of any anti depressant whilst 5htp is still in your system. From experience, Mirtazipine and 5htp do not a good combo make. I had to take M during a particularly scary period in my life, my gp did not know about 5htp and without research available, started me on 60mg M with 5htp still in my system...Seretonin syndrome 2 days later. Very real, very very frightening and so as a result i have avoided 5htp since. However, now free of the nasty Mirtazipine I am hoping 5htp will provide the support my seretonin levels need in a safe and natural way. Good luck all. In my experience, before M was introduced into my system, 5htp was a God send :)

Nemesis 's avatar  Nemesis 08/07/2014 06:54

anyone faced any skin disorders wile using 5-HTP?

tommyco 's avatar  tommyco 18/09/2013 23:04

Hi I have chronic back pain. I started taking 5 http 200mg a day but I stopped because I read somewhere that you should not take for more than 12 weeks. Does anyone know why? It appeared to be helping. My pain seems to have increased since I stopped. I would like know when I should start again or should I try something else.

Just someone 's avatar  Just someone 17/10/2013 20:59

Hey Tommy,


12 weeks is, I think, arbitrary. Julia Ross in her book the Mood Cure advises to take 5htp for as long as it works - according to her, you will notice when it stops working, as you will start feeling worse instead of better, on the pills.
Since your pain has come back when you stopped, it seems like you should go on, for now.

Whyme 's avatar  Whyme 29/08/2013 23:01

I have been weaning myself off of Effexor XR for the last 6 months. I tapered even more than my pdoc recommended. I just knew that the WD symptoms were horrible from trying to get off of this poison before. Anyway, even after tapering to about .125 mg per day I had horrible WD symptoms when I stopped. In order to combat this, I researched different herbal supplements that may help. I started to take 5-HTP. Although I didn't really notice an improvement in my depression or anxiety, I developed Restless Leg Syndrome - almost overnight.

Now I've read many accounts of RLS and let me assure you, mine is severe!!! Picture a burning hot metal rod being placed in both legs from the knees down. Your legs begin to burn from the inside out to the point where the pain is so intense, your legs just jerk involuntarily.

Since being diagnosed with RLS (which was not brain surgery), I have tried Requip and Mirapex which work wonders on the RLS, but unfortunately, I can not take due to the awful side effects they have on me. I've also tried Gabapentin, which doesn't work as well.

Anyway, my point is - I'm desperately trying to figure out what has caused my RLS. Is it part of a discontinuation syndrome effect from the Effexor? BTW - I started to take a small dose of the Effexor again and the RLS has NOT gone away. Or is it perhaps caused by my brief use of the 5-HTP? Any insite or your own personal experiences would be greatly appreciated.

Rob 's avatar  Rob 30/09/2013 20:51

Try magnesium glycinate or citrate for RLS. Worked wonders for mine.

1 person liked this.
Dave 's avatar  Dave 29/09/2013 19:05

It is the Effexor withdrawls- as the same thing happend with me. brain zaps, audio hallucinations, dizziness, nausea, hot and cold flashes, flu like symptoms and Restless leg syndrome and Cramping are all from Effexor.

Jaycee 's avatar  Jaycee 14/04/2013 23:00

I am a 58 yo woman and thought I would try 5HTP after reading about it - I was suffering from mild anxiety. I took the first tablet and got the symptoms your describe as Serotonin Syndrome - I felt completely spaced out, vision problems, sweats, nausea, confusion. palpitations. I have never taken another tablet phew!

Brittany 's avatar  Brittany 19/10/2012 22:51

I totally love it and I just discovered it, however, I guess I was taking too much because for the last week I have been so sick right after consumption and maybe because I take it in the morning (I'm switching to right before bed) but I throw up, I cant function for a good 3 hours after throwing up,It's horrible but I refuse to stop taking it considering the positive effects it has had. The bottle I have recommends 2 (100mg each) and I was taking 4. I took 3 today before reading this posting and I was sick for about 4 hours and I vommited once. I am feeling better now and I love the way I feel mentally about daily issues where in the past I would have freaked out and not have dealt with anything in a proactive way. I am open for suggestions or commentary.

Debbie 's avatar  Debbie 13/03/2013 04:55

From all I have read about 5-HTP, I think you're not supposed to take more than 100 mg a day. There's a chance you can get Serotonin Syndrome if you take too much.

Nicole Mungar 's avatar  Nicole Mungar 04/10/2013 00:16

That's interesting seeing as though I bought my first bottle today... 100mg and it says 1 three times daily for mood, fibro etc and 1-2 day for sleep and 3 three times a day for weight loss so its saying you can take 900mg a day for weight loss. That's a LOT more then the 100mg max you suggest and my info is right off the bottle.

Shoorikh 's avatar  Shoorikh 04/08/2012 08:41

why I can't purchase any of your products?Actually the features are not working