Fo-Ti Root Reviews (Polygonum Multiflorum)


Student 's avatar  Student 24/06/2011 18:45

A question for a Natureopathic Doctor. Is it safe for me to take Ginko, Ginseng, Gotu Kola, Fo-ti and aloe vera together (not necessarily at the same time)? I have just started my studies for a CPA exam (extremely deficult / less then 10% pass rate) and I wanted to something natural to help me study and remember. My full time job and family make things a bit stressful somethime to study. Can a Natureopathic Doctor help?

23 people liked this.
AMD 's avatar  AMD 03/10/2013 15:59

Studies have shown that studying while smelling peppermint will increase study retention by 25%!

4 people liked this.
Mitu027 's avatar  Mitu027 22/04/2011 21:59

where can i get foti

16 people liked this.
HerbWisdom 's avatar  HerbWisdom 10/01/2014 12:29

There is a great Fo-ti tincture available here. They ship all over the World:
http://www.homeherbs.co.uk/product-p/tinc-fo-ti-200ml.htm

Robbierong 's avatar  Robbierong 31/07/2011 09:06

Have had pancreaitits, High Cholestrol, Chronic Fatique, felt washed out hair was going grey lost my sexual drive I am 57 yrs old and have been taking Fo-Ti for the last 6 weeks , I know feel like im a 45 yr old with all the get up and go I had then- this herb is amazing wish I had found out about yrs ago - Well recommend for anyone to try it and see the difference Its a wonder natural Herb

10 people liked this.
dlpollard8 's avatar  dlpollard8 25/12/2013 06:59

This herb is in a great product I am using and I am enjoying the difference it is making!

Ravenhair 's avatar  Ravenhair 20/11/2010 11:38

I was just diagnosed with TA Band distress which is caused by repeatitive use of the muscles on my leg because I started a regimen of vigorous walking of 10k steps a day (usually more) and sometimes jogging. So After losing 24 lbs, my foot, leg and hip started hurting so horribly that I could barely limp to the bus stop to go to work and at work I had to sit all day or be in severe pain. After I was diagnosed, I was given a prescription for heavy duty anti-inflammatories and a round of four weeks of expensive physical therapy. Withouth knowing its effects on inflammation I took a dose of 4 pills of Fo-Ti and 4 pills of Dong Quai because they have always helped restore my normal mood levels during my menstrual cycle and I was just going through it so I took Dong Quai and Fo-Ti and went to bed. The following morning I took another dose to safeguard my good mental health for that day and. . . to my great suprise, that day, I was able to walk all around my apt without limping!! I could not believe it. I had not done anything to stop this pain, I didn't even buy the anti-inflammatories nor gone to the physical therapy sessions and all of a sudden the pain was gone! Then I started searching the Internet for answers and found this page. These two roots are amazingly strong anti-inflamatories and I didn't even know it!! I literally bumped into them by chance to help me with my mood and they fixed my TA Band distress and heavy duty pain without pain killers!! There are many runners at my law firm that have TA Band distress so I will be sure to recommend these two amazing herbs. Thanks to the Chinese people for growing these wonderful herbs!!

9 people liked this.
Bob 's avatar  Bob 21/06/2013 22:41

I believe you mean IT band, not TA band. Ilio-Tibial.

androshi 's avatar  androshi 28/05/2011 15:03

i have known about fo ti for many years as an old mans herb. i never tried it because i was young and didnt need it. well 20 years later the idea of using the herb made sense.
my hair was growing gray and i wanted to change that.

i tried fo ti ,2 pills a day then worked my way up to 6 pills a day. when i used 2 pills a day -i feel young .my face looks young. when i tried 6 pills a day i noticed my roots on my scalp looking darker. this is a real good herb.

if you take just 1 or 2 pills a day,you will feel young and it does something to the face. it gives it more "elasticity". as you get older your face begins to droop. all things go south on the body as we get older. this herb helps you retain your youth.

even now as im looking through my mirror typing this too you,i notice the change.

i wake up and usually my face looks like hell,like an old man -not today it doesnt.

there is a down side to this as well, like all youth pills and herbs you do feel younger-and part of that is feeling more "horny" -which is what the herb is doing.

its restoring your youth energy. if you have sex while under this pill -the sex will be great -but you just spent your youth essence and will have to start all over again.

i think sex zaps our energy and our youthful appearance.

just my opinion.    

8 people liked this.
sami 's avatar  sami 14/11/2011 00:40

hi androshi!
I would ask you if all that you said is really true! I have premature gray hair now and I would like to know where can I find this herb called fo-ti. I am grateful if you can help me brother.
Thanks.

13 people liked this.
Tri_west 's avatar  Tri_west 02/03/2012 21:36

Fo-Ti is amazing...have been taking it for 3 months....post menopause..my hair was slowly falling out over a period of 2 years...at the root....that stopped within a couple weeks of taking 2 capsules with one capsule saw pametto every day...  After 3 months my hair is thicker, fuller...like it was before menopause..I am amazed that more people dont know about this product...I guess it is hard to tell people your hair will come back from taking it...sounds a little too good to be true...but it is and it does work...my brother started 3 weeks ago and his hairdresser said yesterday that his hair was growing faster and coming in darker. ...he is amazed....an employee at Whole Foods in Orlando told me about using these two products together.....when I return to Orlando I will definitely thank him lots..Saw Pamentto inhibits the DHT which is a by product of testosterone that effects the hair and causes it to fall out.....Fo-Ti then helps to build the hair follicle to make it stronger, grow faster and change the color it you take enought of it per day... .I'm concern that as more people hear about it, it may become hard to come by....if your hair follicle however is already dead this won't bring it back...the trick with these two products together when your hair just begins to show signs of falling out...

5 people liked this.
zimbel 's avatar  zimbel 27/11/2013 15:29

Hi Tri_west

your concern this herb could run out if more people would use it made me smile. This plant is a climber belonging to the polygonum family and grows in many cities from balconies or just along fences. its common name is Russian Wine and you can buy it in supermarkets for less than £2 during the growing season. The root is incredible strong and withstands in very hostile soils , even in tarmac.

Thank you so much for your helpful review that convinces me to buy this wonder medicine for same trouble I have with my hair.

1 person liked this.
Anum Naz 's avatar  Anum Naz 27/03/2013 07:47

hy frnd plz tell me about this what is fo ti is in it a plant if i take it then how can i use plzzzzzzzzzzz help

Andrew D. Ford 's avatar  Andrew D. Ford 28/09/2010 19:26

Combined with valerian and chamomile- This knocks me out all night. Andrew Ford- Natureopathic Doctor.

5 people liked this.
Anum Naz 's avatar  Anum Naz 27/03/2013 07:46

hi doc plz help me if i take that plant than how use

2 people liked this.
Dana 's avatar  Dana 08/10/2014 17:51

I also found taking two to 3 Foti with MSM before bed takes away the insomnia and wake up feeling more rested - most definitely.

Frances A 's avatar  Frances A 15/10/2011 21:08

What is Fo Ti's thermal nature, according to Traditional Chinese Medicine? 

3 people liked this.
kate 's avatar  kate 08/02/2014 09:04

can someone recommend a brand thats good quality? that i could buy from australia

2 people liked this.
jack 's avatar  jack 13/10/2014 03:58

Paradise herbs makes the best fo ti extract capsules you can buy.

HerbWisdom 's avatar  HerbWisdom 10/02/2014 14:25

You can buy high quality Fo-ti tincture here. The are based in the UK, but they ship all over the world:
http://www.homeherbs.co.uk/product-p/tinc-fo-ti-200ml.htm
Best regards

Scott 's avatar  Scott 12/12/2011 02:37

i've been taking other supplements but have been thinking strongly of getting foti because of poor health btw way did you know that bioperine or just piperine can increase vitamins and supplemonet power 10 to 20 times? don't belive me just do a quick google search i'm still waiting for THAT to come in the mail. and yeah i heard about that chinese guy too 256 years wooh! and when he died they say he look almost 50! that reminds me of that guy in england who lived to 140 years i think and when he died king charles the 1st orded an autopsy and found out HE had a colon of a 12 year old

2 people liked this.
Katie 's avatar  Katie 19/12/2012 22:30

My Gotu Kola blend has Fo-Ti in it, and it is amazing! The combination of these herbs, which I never would have heard of if not for the reccomendation of a Vietnamese friend of mine, has helped with my ADD, as well as my AIHA (Autoimmune Hemolytic Anemia) symptoms!

1 person liked this.
Miriamfinley 's avatar  Miriamfinley 11/03/2012 16:15

I started taking fo - ti about 4 months ago. I am 44 years old and I noticed my hair was beginning to thin and go grey. I read about its effects on hair growth so I gave it a try. I take 1000 mg in the morning and in the evening. I have noticed now 4 months later that all of my new growth is thick dark hair. I still have a few grays, but 90 % is my dark natural hair color. I also noticed that when I wash my hair, that none of it is falling out like before. I also notice that my recovery time is faster from strenuous activity. I guess you could say it makes me feel younger, but I am skeptical about that till I see results, and I have seen some good results so far from this herb.

1 person liked this.
Ahsan 's avatar  Ahsan 14/03/2013 05:26

Hi this is ahsan from india,i have noticed some grey hair on my head,i'm only 22,does fo-ti reverse our grey hair?

11 people liked this.
Mongoliangal 's avatar  Mongoliangal 22/02/2014 23:51

I am a 40 year old woman. How much can I consume everyday FO-TI if I were to boil it to drink as tea?

Mama 's avatar  Mama 17/12/2013 17:13

I'd like to know what brands of Fo-Ti have worked for people. I've been on 4 capsules a day of Solaray brand with no change in grey, no luck with fertility, and no change in hair loss. Reviews aren't very good. Is there a better brand? Recommendations please...

Billie 's avatar  Billie 18/12/2013 23:15

Yes try swanson grand

Mama  's avatar  Mama  10/01/2014 04:17

Thank you, I've only found a Swanson Herb site online. I haven't been able to find Swanson Grand. Where do you purchase it?

HerbWisdom 's avatar  HerbWisdom 10/01/2014 12:26

You can purchase a very nice high strength Fo-ti tincture here. The ship all over the World:
http://www.homeherbs.co.uk/product-p/tinc-fo-ti-200ml.htm

1 person liked this.
naadeon 's avatar  naadeon 06/12/2013 13:00

Does Fo ti increase estrogen levels in men ? and if it does how I counter it ?
Whats the herb that can be taken with fo ti for not causing any constipation ?

akshyaeon 's avatar  akshyaeon 21/11/2013 17:19

Is Fo Ti safe ? If I take it would I be addicted to it ?
Which brand is the best ? and whats the difference between " prepared " and unprepared Fo Ti ?

Hannah 's avatar  Hannah 15/11/2013 17:07

Can women use Fo-ti,

HerbWisdom 's avatar  HerbWisdom 18/11/2013 14:47

Hi, Yes Women can use Fo-Ti, however some women find it quite strong as it seems to be more suited to males. Similar herbs that are generally regarded as better for females are <a href="http://www.herbwisdom.com/herb-dong-quai.html">Dong Quai</A> and <a href="http://www.herbwisdom.com/herb-gotu-kola.html">Gotu Kola</A>. These two herbs are often taken together.
Thank you and best regards

tee 's avatar  tee 13/11/2013 13:10

hi guys,

i heard alot of things about Fo ti and i was wondering if it interfers birth control pills??


mmah002 's avatar  mmah002 12/10/2013 03:47

I am trying Fo-ti for fertility as have been TTC for 1 year. I have been taking for 2 weeks now. Did anyone else experience very sore and tender nipples when taking?

Sam 's avatar  Sam 19/10/2013 05:56

yes I did and its a very common side effect because foti causes PMS systems when you're using it for fertility. This just means it's working properly.

Meg 's avatar  Meg 15/08/2013 01:33

I took my first Fo-ti two days ago, and I took one pill. It is made by Paradise and was a 16:1 extract ratio. I took nothing else but my mult vitamin to see what would happen. I have been on many adrenal boosters, strong antioxidants but wanted to try this. I think I noticed a difference and was happy.
But late yesterday I began to itch and by late evening my lips were swelling, and my chin. I took some Benadryl and went to bed. It was still there this morning but gradually has reduced to almost nothing. I itched all night, especially the top of my head, which as odd.
Two weeks ago I had an even worse anaphylactic reaction to a mutli vitamin made by Rainbow. I have taken there mutli vitamins before but not this particular blend for seniors. The swelling was worse than last night but after taking Benadryl it was practically gone in the morning. My throat was swollen on both incidents.
I have been taking loads of herbs and vitamins for 40 years and have never had these kinds of reactions. I keep Benadryl on hand for insomnia on occasion. I am not sure if it is because I am almost 60 and my body is possibly less tolerant or what. I am a RN also so I am cautious and read up and ask questions on most everything I take prior to purchasing.
I will try the Fo Ti again ( with Benadryl near by) just to see. I also had tried a new strong teeth whitening product two days earlier and a new whitening toothpaste also. I am not sure if there was something in these products that caused a systemic allergic reaction or not. I have stopped everything to give myself a break of course.
If anyone has had any similar reaction please post.
By the way, Fo Ti can be obtained at any good health food store or on the internet. Make sure you get the processed or prepared kind.
thanks
Meg

saad 's avatar  saad 06/08/2013 05:33

Can any one guide me about the location where i can get or by this product from in pakistan karachi,,,,,,,,,,please le me know must would be waiting for your reply

HerbWisdom 's avatar  HerbWisdom 06/08/2013 11:27

Hi, you can order Fo-ti tincture online here and they will post to Pakistan:
http://www.homeherbs.co.uk/product-p/tinc-fo-ti-200ml.htm
Thank you for your enquiry

Ruby 's avatar  Ruby 21/08/2012 05:30

I have been taking Fo Ti Root for just over 2 month for stress. It has been working fantastically. My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for the past two years, I was told by doctors that I didn't even have a 1% chance of falling pregnant. I have just conceived and am 4 weeks pregnant. The chemist has told me to stop taking the Fo Ti Root because it's not good for the baby.. Is that true? Anyway I highly recommend it for both stress and fertility.