Evening Primrose Oil Reviews (Oenothera Biennis)


Marcuspburnett 's avatar  Marcuspburnett 10/01/2011 11:57

how much to take daily

265 people liked this.
Angelacattate 's avatar  Angelacattate 06/03/2011 07:37

it works but how do i increase my sex drive

118 people liked this.
Girlpower 's avatar  Girlpower 03/06/2012 19:38

DHEA

30 people liked this.
Helpful Hand 's avatar  Helpful Hand 13/09/2014 21:52

Penis

2 people liked this.
hiliary 's avatar  hiliary 26/04/2011 15:54

what is the dose recommended per day?

103 people liked this.
christine vela 's avatar  christine vela 17/12/2010 02:47

Im 43 years old.. I have been taking evening primose oil supplements for decades...I absolutely SWEAR by these magical pills... It makes my skin feel like butter and I look 10 years younger! I would HIGHLY recommend them for any woman!
CHRISTINE VELA
Melville, NY

65 people liked this.
youcrazycat 's avatar  youcrazycat 06/02/2011 18:33

I just started taking them and they seemed to improve my mood. Are there other supplements that you take and like?? I am 49 going on 35.;)

60 people liked this.
Katrina 's avatar  Katrina 23/08/2014 13:33

Instead ot taking antidepressants to imporve my mood (they never really helped anyway), I take Rhodiola Energy, GABA, and Maca (don't take at night....can be energizing), and have just Alpha Lipoic Acid. I find working out, bicycling, walking or any exercise (yoga!) always makes me feel better. Please consult with a doctor b/c I am not a doctor (disclaimer!). Also, any exercise makes me feel better. I work out 5 to 6 days a week, never on Sunday! :)

1 person liked this.
JCM 's avatar  JCM 11/05/2011 20:04

I am desperate, being with PCOS for more than 6 years and nothing works.I am trying to be pregnant, will this really help?

62 people liked this.
Emm 's avatar  Emm 09/09/2013 04:49

My daughter was diagnosed with pcos and was suggested to take fertility pills. She opted out on that. I put her on a high potency womens vitamin,4-5oz of aloe vera gel a day,( inner fillet) ( note: do not drink the aloe while on your cycle it cause heavy flow) It is great for getting the ovaries to produce estrogen wich will help lower the testerome in the body)and evening primrose( 1 in the morn and one at night before bed) She also walked 45 mins a day (for good circulation and excercise ate lots of fruits and veggies) After being infertile for 5 years. She did this regimen for 6 months and lots of prayers to Jesus , she became pregnant. Her first born child was a 9lbs8oz boy and the second pregnancy was also a boy 7lbs4oz and the most recent is a 3month old babygirl..As you can see for the last 3 years we have had a new edition to our family and she and her husband are loving being parents and i am loving being a Grand- mother. I hope this works for you!! Be blessed sweety!!

15 people liked this.
lwlwlwlwlwl 's avatar  lwlwlwlwlwl 23/10/2014 02:11

Bs. Probably changed her diet, got healthy with the walks, and had something to take her mind off of getting preggo.

grisssell 's avatar  grisssell 11/09/2014 12:05

Do acupunture also it really works

1 person liked this.
ema 's avatar  ema 30/09/2014 18:08

Acupuncture for infertility really worked for me....I tried everything.But I don't have PCOS. But I have two children after trying each month for 4 years to become pregnant. I swear by it. Good Luck!!

Norma 's avatar  Norma 20/12/2010 03:40

One benefit that I was surprised to not find listed is that it has worked wonders for me and my hot flashes! I started taking it on Tuesday, and within a day, I had fewer hot flashes and their severity was less. Now, after only taking it for 5 days, I barely notice any hot flashes at all! I hope others see this and find this useful!

49 people liked this.
Ice Princess 's avatar  Ice Princess 13/04/2011 21:02

How many mg do you take?

46 people liked this.
reganno 's avatar  reganno 08/09/2012 20:46

i read your post and started taking epo today hope it helps me with the flashes!!

2 people liked this.
Misty525 's avatar  Misty525 13/03/2013 16:24

Black Cohosh Extract will help your hot flashes. I get half or even less now and they only last 30 sec to 2 minutes instead of 5 minutes now. They also help night sweats too. I notice in three days of taking them. You can buy them at Walmart for about $3.94. I will never get off until menopause is over or it stops first. I have been using it for five weeks now since I started Pre-menopause.

3 people liked this.
Zakiyyah Bhata Yashra'al 's avatar  Zakiyyah Bhata Yashra'al 01/10/2012 05:29

I just started taking primrose so far so good

1 person liked this.
Anjelfase 's avatar  Anjelfase 25/09/2010 22:44

Every month I would have extremely bad menstral cramps, so much so, that I would be balled over in pain. A friend told me about Evening Primrose Oil and I started taking one capsule three times a day with food and I am proud to say that I have no more cramps!!!!!!!!!!! I strongly recommend this to all of the women who suffer from those dreadful cramps!

45 people liked this.
Majumdarmadhumita 's avatar  Majumdarmadhumita 29/06/2011 09:48

THREE TIMES FOR HOW THOSE DAYS ONLY?

34 people liked this.
Robjamar 's avatar  Robjamar 15/08/2011 04:22

I was diagnosed with acne rosacea/eczema many years ago. I used everything over the counter and steroids to try to get rid of the problems. I also went to a number of dermatologists and prescribed medications didn't help. I continued to have bad breakouts. About one year ago I started taking EPO and today I have no more eczema, rosacea, no hot flashes, no arthritis pain. My skin is soft and supple and my nails and hair are healthy. This oil works like a miracle for me. I take 3 capsules a day.

  

41 people liked this.
Nanhunt 's avatar  Nanhunt 11/01/2012 20:52

How many miligrams are your capsules????

82 people liked this.
Cee 's avatar  Cee 21/12/2010 18:31

Recently diagnosed with PCOS, I began taking 1000mg a day three months ago, and my skin has cleared up on its own for the first time in 12 years!

43 people liked this.
ivy 's avatar  ivy 15/02/2012 19:33

Did your facial hair decrease? 

43 people liked this.
Reina 's avatar  Reina 21/02/2011 12:34

Did you have any facial hair due to PCOS?

26 people liked this.
Daynna 's avatar  Daynna 09/04/2011 14:59

I have had facial hair growth that is definitely due to my PCOS. I have just began taking Evening Primrose but I am unsure what quantities are safe to take and if they should be taken when I am already prescribed Progesterone to try to balance my hormones. Does anyone have any information about this?

40 people liked this.
Lonz1000 's avatar  Lonz1000 14/04/2011 16:34

I have taken evening primrose oil for about 3 years. I think it is safe and natural and would not interfere with anything else (but you can google it and read just to be sure). It is just an oil so to me it is sort of like asking how much olive oil is safe to take. I take 2, 1350mg softgels per day. In the winter, I really should take 3 per day but I take various other supplements as well. It helps with dry skin and it opens pores and softens what clogs them, ie blackheads. You will see these results the end of the first day, if you take about 4000mg. Take 2 at breakfast and 2 at lunch and by bedtime look at your skin for softness and reduced dryness. You will be amazed. I have hot flashes and this does not stop them for me. I use an Arbonne plant based cream for that. It works.
For moodiness and irritability, I take 5-HTP, hydroxytryptophan. You need tryptophan for your body to produce seratonin which is a key hormonal mood booster. This also works great for PMS and depression (if it is due to low seratonin). You can take up to 300mg per day. Take with food 2 to 3 times per day. May help you sleep better also. You will notice benefits within 3 to 5 days. You will cope better and feel better.
Sue

28 people liked this.
Ash AIC 's avatar  Ash AIC 14/09/2014 13:40

What is the Arbonne cream you use? I am an Arbonne consultant and love to hear different uses for products??

Daughterofgrace_2010 's avatar  Daughterofgrace_2010 11/07/2011 17:55

I wish I knew more but I have been diagnosed with pcos also.i do take the evening primrose cause it helps with the pms that comes with the heavy bleeding but I still have the facial too i stay at my wits end with that.some think i am weird cause of pms but hey I am free to be me good luck.

7 people liked this.
nikkles76 's avatar  nikkles76 28/10/2012 01:35

I too have pcos and have just bought some would be good if it helps for that too.

4 people liked this.
Ali 's avatar  Ali 18/12/2010 11:17

does omega6 have any action on Hair Foliculs ( privent the growth of hair ) on face or body ?

31 people liked this.
Sandy 's avatar  Sandy 13/01/2011 06:07

Hi Ladies,<br>I spoke to the nutritionist about a remedy for my pre-menopause... My mood swings have been all over the chart and normally I am a very up beat positive person, not to mention the "hot flashes" she recommended Evening Primrose Oil 3 times a day and for me it has been amazing how much I feel like myself once again! I even have tested it (a few times) by going off of it for a few days... and immediately the mood was awful again! I came to this site to read about the other benefits and I am amazed at how many other items were listed.. I hope this helps!

29 people liked this.
Toni 's avatar  Toni 23/04/2013 05:22

What is the dose you take

23 people liked this.
cb 's avatar  cb 15/09/2013 11:00

1000mg

4 people liked this.
Jkohes 's avatar  Jkohes 25/12/2010 22:43

Most of the benefits are meant for women. Will it be suitable for my 8 year old boy? He has started taking them 2 months back for his Enzema. Now he hardly scratch his skin anymore.

27 people liked this.
Freya_kahlo 's avatar  Freya_kahlo 28/08/2011 16:49

Not suitable for a boy, it's estrogenic.

18 people liked this.
Deepak1007 's avatar  Deepak1007 23/11/2011 04:00

I think it will be suitable for boy. It is a natural oil so I do not see harm. Taken in OIL form instead of softgels would be even more useful.

10 people liked this.
dada 's avatar  dada 29/11/2013 15:20

Don't you worry, it worksd equally well for boy and girls!

1 person liked this.
mfort 's avatar  mfort 03/03/2014 14:22

I was wondering for my son as well. He is 15.

1 person liked this.
Tangie 's avatar  Tangie 04/10/2010 12:19

I have suffered from cramps since I was a young girl. After i began to take evening primrose, I had no more cramps and my cycle was considerably much lighter than the norm. I love this product and I am still recommending it to as many ppl as I know!!!!

28 people liked this.
Feliciawilliams86 's avatar  Feliciawilliams86 11/11/2010 15:02

How many mg a pill u take and many times a day??

59 people liked this.
Lizzy 's avatar  Lizzy 29/06/2012 14:22

 I had the exact same result taking three 1000mg pills per day. I am so grateful to have found EPO!

4 people liked this.
Klpn 's avatar  Klpn 21/05/2011 20:04

When I quit taking the pill, my face broke out in cystic like acne, at 35 years old! It was awful, and no otc meds helped. I was almost going to go back on the pill but I found somewhere where somebody said they used Evening Primrose Oil capsules. It was an inexpensive trail that I will be eternally grateful for! My skin cleared up within just a short time, maybe 2 weeks. I will break out a few days before my priod but nowhere near what I was suffering through, AND its made my cramps go away completely. I cannot say enough about what it has done for me, its the only supplement I take religiously, 3 times a day. Going on 3 years now.  

25 people liked this.
Ektakhanna 's avatar  Ektakhanna 06/12/2010 14:22

I would like to know if it has any side effects and if the oil would work the same as the tablets. I do not like taking tablets but get very bad crumps and also have very dry skin. So would like to know if the oil can be a subsitute for the pills?

28 people liked this.
Rey Celis 's avatar  Rey Celis 27/07/2011 14:22

I used to take EVENING PRIMROSE OIL 2 tablets daily and i've noticed that I loosed weight and my immune system proved good! Really it's a wonderful herbal healing. more power!

20 people liked this.
Kwhitts42 's avatar  Kwhitts42 03/06/2012 19:35

Yes, it contains GLA which aids in fat loss.  I  take two 1000mg capsules twice a day for hot flashes and menopausal symptoms, but have lost about 10 pounds in the last 6 weeks.  Seems to help appetite as well as skin problems and aging symptoms.  I am 53. 

13 people liked this.
Misty525 's avatar  Misty525 17/03/2013 20:56

WOW that sounds good. I have been taking Black Cohosh Extract for about a month. In 3 days my hot flashes went from 5 minutes to 30 sec - 2 min. They now last 30 sec or 1 minutes. Just started take Evening Primrose, because a friend of mine told me to take it along with Black Cohosh. I take one 1000mg in the morning with my breakfast and now I have even less hot flashes and night sweat (thank God). I am premenopausal and I just started the 3rd week in December 2012 and I haven't had a period since (happy about that). But now when this happen I got huge type pimples on my back and butt, I gain weight and my right leg & knee joint started acting. I am hoping EPO will help me with these problems. As well as, I need it to help me sleep at night. No moody problems. It's a beautiful thing getting older.....

5 people liked this.
Handytim 's avatar  Handytim 25/01/2013 00:13

just started 3 days ago for tendonitus, along w/ astaxanthin...seems to help most by rubbing EPO on elbows

2 people liked this.
Yanina 's avatar  Yanina 26/10/2010 19:31

i used to use it during my menstrual years.now my 12 yers old daughter has her monthly.i wonder if she is too young to take evening primrose oil or not?any suggestions?

21 people liked this.
Dgmeade89 's avatar  Dgmeade89 23/11/2010 21:12

EPO is safe for young children so she will do just fine with it. Believe me, when my daughter begins menstruating in the next two years she will be taking it as well.

12 people liked this.
Jeniseromano 's avatar  Jeniseromano 22/02/2011 22:00

No she isn't too young my daughter is 13 and it has worked wonders for her.

5 people liked this.
Mechl58 's avatar  Mechl58 28/09/2011 16:12

Evening primrose oil was recommended by a young female from the UK.  I began using for hot flashes & IT'S AMAZING, they have practically subsided and the effect was within days!  I have only on occasion felt the mild beginnings of a flash, never gets full blown and the night sweats have also stopped!!!!  I would recommend to any perimenopausal/postmenopausal/chronic PMS suffer.  I am a Women's Health Nurse Practitioner and what an amazing supplement without side effects!  I've been recommending to my patients.

19 people liked this.
nikkles76 's avatar  nikkles76 28/10/2012 01:43

I have pcos and pmdd, sounds like it will help me, just bought some so have yet to see the results.

2 people liked this.
jonessa de castro 's avatar  jonessa de castro 07/10/2014 09:05

i just operated and diagnosed endometriotic cyst and my doctor told me to take EPO for a week before my operation. i stopped taking the pills after my operation because Im not into taking pills even when im sick...and now i am suffering from a pain especially during my menstrual period so i have to take these pills. I've been searching for the right medicine without side effects.good to know that they have this kind of pills.... :)

Lynchmobster1 's avatar  Lynchmobster1 30/12/2010 18:23

Evening Primrose Oil has help with restlessness at night and helped me to sleep. I take one an hour before bedtime. I really don't know why, but it does.!

19 people liked this.
nerdyconnie 's avatar  nerdyconnie 24/03/2012 01:43

i just noticed it too! it makes me sleep more restful and great! i take twice a day for sore breast, but i noticed my skin looks better and i sleep better

6 people liked this.
Beachbag 's avatar  Beachbag 18/09/2011 01:15


I had arthritis in both knees  for six months, could barely walk.   someone suggested oil of evening primrose.  After three weeks I realized I had no pain or so little that I wasn't disturbed.   Started with one 100 mg soft gel a day.  Quit taking after three months still no pain, walk up and down stairs, hills and swim daily.  I tell everyone about it.  80 yrs old.

16 people liked this.
elkstar 's avatar  elkstar 11/10/2010 00:12

this is the best thing that has happened to me. i love evening primrose oil!

16 people liked this.
Dollysunshine1946 's avatar  Dollysunshine1946 05/12/2010 15:53

Is Evening Primrose Oil good for thinning hair?

158 people liked this.
Beachbag 's avatar  Beachbag 19/02/2011 13:47

for some this will be hard to believe. Eight months ago I had arthritis pain in both knees so bad I couldn't sleep. Oil of evening primrose was recommended. Took only one capsule a day for two months. Have no pain. I am not taking any capsules now to see if the pain comes back.

14 people liked this.
MistralWinds777 's avatar  MistralWinds777 21/04/2011 19:07

i make a wonderful face cream out of the oil and I always get compliments on my skin. I never need cover up make up and I swear it is the EPO

16 people liked this.
Joy 's avatar  Joy 26/07/2011 12:08

I would love to know what you put in your face cream with the Evening Primrose.  Thank you!

26 people liked this.
wendy 's avatar  wendy 18/10/2012 03:09

what brand do you use and where do you buy it? do you mix something with it to make the face cream?

2 people liked this.
Jyoti devdhar 's avatar  Jyoti devdhar 26/06/2011 05:36

WHAT IS "EPO" ?

1 person liked this.
Epaoletti  's avatar  Epaoletti  19/11/2011 02:30

Evening Primrose Oil is EPO

Sue 's avatar  Sue 21/03/2014 07:15

do you add anything else to EPO?

Doggirl248 's avatar  Doggirl248 24/09/2010 13:05

This herbal supplement, along with flaxseed, soy, black cohosh root, dong quai root, licorice root and chaste tree berry, has gotten rid of my hot flashes. Highly reccomended!

13 people liked this.
Jcnascarlover2112 's avatar  Jcnascarlover2112 13/10/2010 04:24

I have been experiencing really bad hot flashes and just went to the healthfood store today and the owner highly recommended I asked about the others and she said I din't need them?

12 people liked this.
jane 's avatar  jane 25/09/2012 05:26

where to buy chaste tree berry, i hav severe endometriosis n adenomeyoma :(

3 people liked this.
Kelly1968 's avatar  Kelly1968 11/03/2011 04:20

I suffer from really bad PMS, and the only remedy that helps me is Evening Primrose Oil. I first read about this remedy in a natural health magazine several years ago, and decided it was worth looking into. Before I ever heard of Evening Primrose Oil, Ihad been using products like Pamprin and Midol, but all they did was make me sleepy. When I tried Evening Primrose Oil for the first time, I experienced relief from my PMS without any side effects! Since then, Evening Primrose Oil has been my remedy of choice when It's "that time of the month." I would highly recommned this to any woman who suffers from this monthly problem. Thank God for Evening Primrose Oil!

11 people liked this.
gillianthk 's avatar  gillianthk 04/01/2013 02:13

Can a boy of 24years take Evening Primrose oil?

9 people liked this.
goodtime charlie 's avatar  goodtime charlie 29/02/2012 08:05

i had arthritis pain in both kness for six months.  dr. said there was nothing she could recommend.  hard to walk, sleep, sit for long or get up.  friend suggested EPO.  i would have done anything.  three weeks later, no pain.  been fine for over a year.  walk all over, knee bends, swim.  only took capsules for three weeks.  going to start taking again to see if there is any improvement anywhere else in my body.  still no pain in the knees.  i'm 81.

9 people liked this.
Aurora Chico 's avatar  Aurora Chico 20/01/2012 06:59

Is primrose oil good for high blood? can I take primrose oil and heart medicine at once? If not, what would be the side effect? for your comment. Thank you and God bless

12 people liked this.
ivy 's avatar  ivy 15/02/2012 19:32

I have facial hair and a 5:00 shadow, does EPO help?

14 people liked this.
M. Abu-Lughod 's avatar  M. Abu-Lughod 30/04/2011 19:53

As a gynecologist I have been using evening primrose to alleviate symptoms of menopause and perimenopause. It is used alone or in combination with hormone replacement therapy. However, many patients refuse to have HRT. For such patients evening primrose is used alone.
M. Abu-Lughod, FRCOG, FRCS.

10 people liked this.
Rey Celis 's avatar  Rey Celis 24/07/2011 14:37

evening primrose is really benefecial for it cures many diseases! it is not only an anti-oxidant but also an edifier of beauty and brain!

7 people liked this.
Dobsonnic 's avatar  Dobsonnic 24/04/2011 10:20

For months I have been suffering from joint pain in my hips knees and ankles which caused me quite a bit of distress especially in the evening. At 41 I shouldn't be feeling this way aching all the time.
When I started taking evening primrose oil I noticed a difference the next day. After a few days the pain had gone I can't believe it, I'm so happy!! I wish I'd known sooner ... : )

6 people liked this.
honeybunny 's avatar  honeybunny 20/05/2011 10:43

after reading about your joint pain i am also a long term sufferer, and would like to know what dosage or strength did you take as the hip and knee pain is getting me very low know having suffered for many years , i shall give it a go .thank you  

8 people liked this.
Mkollman 's avatar  Mkollman 11/01/2012 23:24

Why can you not take evening primrose oil if you are taking Lipitor?

7 people liked this.
Holly 's avatar  Holly 05/12/2012 21:15

I'm 20 and have been taking these for just under a month now, I had really bad PMS before and had tried the (contraceptive) pill to ease my symptoms but it didn't work. now I'm taking evening primrose I have noticed such a huge difference in my overall well-being. for starters I'm a lot happier, I have no mood swings or PMS at all. my skin has also improved and is a lot clearer and more moisturised as well as the condition of my hair and nails. plus on top of all this it is the winter season and so far have not been ill once! (normally I would have suffered at least a good few colds by now but nothing) this stuff is brilliant and I would definitely recommend to everyone out there just for general great mental and physical health :) give it a try, you will not be disappointed!

4 people liked this.
Godsqueen89 's avatar  Godsqueen89 17/03/2012 11:42

DAY 1 ..i PRAY TO VISIT BACK WITH GOOD NEWS AS WELL..GOD IS GOOD..look at all the natural -green-earthy things we are Blessed with for Healing...TYJ. wonderful*  2bcontinued=

4 people liked this.
paz 's avatar  paz 02/02/2013 21:47

I am taking EPO for only few weeks and I feel the difference in my body already feeling good !!! going thru menopause thank God for perfect natural .love.....

Rey Celis 's avatar  Rey Celis 24/07/2011 14:35

evening primrose oil is really of great benefits to me since it is an anti-oxidant, it cures a lot of diseases and helps in beautifying oneself! more power!

5 people liked this.
Jeniseromano 's avatar  Jeniseromano 22/02/2011 21:57

My daughter has severe cramps every month. They are so bad she is in bed for at least three days every month. Her doctor gave her an ibuprofen regime that didn't help. From the recommendation of a friend, she started taking primrose oil capsules. Starting in September 2010 to now, she may be in bed for one day if that long. I has helped her tremendously!

4 people liked this.
Pobletej9995 's avatar  Pobletej9995 06/01/2011 06:36

After using it for a month a friend claimed her PMS diminished almost completely

4 people liked this.
venusta 's avatar  venusta 07/09/2013 16:09

Hi, I suffered from polycystic ovaries for 20 years and severe PMS. After one year of taking 2000 mg Onagra per day, my PMS has lessen to a slight annoyence and my ultrasound came back completely clear both ovaries. Just wanted to share....

3 people liked this.
Ann Van den Broeck 's avatar  Ann Van den Broeck 11/09/2013 10:57

My homeopath suggested me to take evening primrose and it regulated my periods completely + I became way less tired.

charlene Sinel 's avatar  charlene Sinel 01/07/2013 16:32

I am taking amlodipine besylate for my maintenance.Is it alright if I take EPO as well?

3 people liked this.
Lorri 's avatar  Lorri 13/01/2013 01:35

I have been on primrose for a really long time just love it I take 4 per day at bed time had worked wonders for me! With my mood swings ,nails, hair , and makes me feel great all around . Best price I have found is Costco $7.99 for 400 pills just restocked today

3 people liked this.
CanadianThinker 's avatar  CanadianThinker 21/01/2013 05:49

thanks Lorri! I was curious if you found any benefits with regards to relieving insomnia...
Someone told me it works well as a mild sleeping aid. Thanks :)

2 people liked this.
Kate 's avatar  Kate 29/02/2012 00:15

I began taking EPO 3 days ago to help alleviate menstrual cramps.  I was diagnosed with Dysmenorrhea when I was 16.  I honestly swear by this stuff!  I take 2 1000mg a day. My cramps are now completely gone, along with my premenstrual pimples.  I have dry very sensitive skin with mild/moderate Rosacea.  My skin is now more hydrated and less red.  I am honestly shocked that I have seen these results after only 3 days.  I am 28 and also trying to conceive, so I am also hoping that EPO will help my body create more cervical mucus.  Love love love this stuff!  If you are thinking about trying EPO but still skeptical, give it a try.  It is very inexpensive, easy to find and it might just be the cure you are looking for!

3 people liked this.
Jain Ramzamma 's avatar  Jain Ramzamma 05/08/2011 10:02

how long can i take this epo ? means shall i take this for more than a month or years?

3 people liked this.
Oleandro7 's avatar  Oleandro7 20/07/2011 21:09

I was really surprised my it helped with my anxiety attacks and sleep problems! I have been taking primrose oil for 3 weeks and I have not noticed any PMS symptoms which I usually have badly.

3 people liked this.
Balsashaya 's avatar  Balsashaya 05/03/2011 16:01

i am 50year old i take evening primerose since 4months for menoposal syndrom but also feel flashing and sweating and tireyt,why?

5 people liked this.
Marian Livermore 's avatar  Marian Livermore 19/02/2011 13:29

It certainly helped with PMT.

3 people liked this.
Kay 's avatar  Kay 21/02/2014 19:04

I have gone from not sleeping and feeling uptight and stressed to experiencing the most amazing relaxing sleeps I've had since my teens. it actually feels like I've had some sort of miraculous new lease of life and I've only been taking two 1000 capsules twice a day with food for four days. Like others my face lines appear to have plumped out.I'm 59 and was experiencing all sorts of nerve and joint pain. Wow! I dare to believe my whole life is going to change.

2 people liked this.
Nicholsonbrenda 's avatar  Nicholsonbrenda 26/04/2012 12:11

can I take evening primrose if I am taking ramipril and simvastatin I am also taking a low dosage of seroquel

3 people liked this.
JRod 's avatar  JRod 29/05/2011 16:53

I read on a trying to conceive message board the EPO helps with cervical fluid, and in turn could help conception.  I have been taking them for less then a week and I've noticed a HUGE difference in my CF.

2 people liked this.
Big H  's avatar  Big H  28/02/2014 00:20

Is EPO any good for anxiety or possible panic attacks or adrenaline rushes

1 person liked this.
PRO 's avatar  PRO 02/06/2013 15:24

I just Started taking it and it does say take one tablet 2X a day we"ll see if they are good as they say. Good luck everyone.

1 person liked this.
Nadine 's avatar  Nadine 29/03/2013 21:48

I take 1000 mg three times daily as prescribed. It works!!!!

1 person liked this.
Nadine 's avatar  Nadine 29/03/2013 21:46

This Evening Primrose Oil has been a huge tremendous blessing with zero side effects. It has balanced out my hormonal levels in menopause and stopped my bleeding. I have been bleeding non-stop for 8 months now. I don't feel so weak as I did and I feel more balanced and not as faint and dizzy. Thank GOD for natural herbal remedies!!!!!!!!

1 person liked this.
Danielle419 's avatar  Danielle419 06/03/2013 04:35

I'm 28 and was in a very serious car accident 12 years ago. I've been in chronic pain ever since, and a couple months ago I started taking evening primrose oil, and at last, my pain is reduced significantly. I also take glucosamine. The combination of the 2 is a miracle! The swelling and pain and majorly lessened, my mood has improved, and I'm sleeping better. Wish I had tried tis years ago.
To any chronic pain sufferers reading this 1500mg of glucosamine and 1500mg of evening primrose everyday will change your life!!!!

1 person liked this.
Ameer Ali 's avatar  Ameer Ali 04/03/2013 13:47

its tomuch expensive pleas make it little cheeper for poor customer

1 person liked this.
Kerri Fugate 's avatar  Kerri Fugate 24/03/2013 20:34

Walmart has cold pressed evening primrose oil for $6.

Guest 's avatar  Guest 22/08/2011 18:44

I get really bad pms symptoms (cramping, ugh, it's the worst)
I started taking it one month and by the time it came around again my cramps were much improved. I also have acne, and that has also improved since :)
(I'm 13, I take one a day)

1 person liked this.
Saswatikarmakar 's avatar  Saswatikarmakar 29/04/2011 09:02

the oil is a wonder, i was suffering from pms and various other problem related to my skin ,this capsules have worked wonder for me,thanks to nature for this wonderful thing,after all looking and feeling good is very important in life,every woman should take this supplement regularly, i love this oil

1 person liked this.
Lisa Manchester 's avatar  Lisa Manchester 06/04/2011 19:52

I've been taking Evening Primrose Oil Gel Capsules 1 x 1000mg every day for 13 years. They were recommended to me for PMS and breast tenderness after giving birth to my son, I was really bad but didn't want any medication so my GP said to try them. I would tell any woman to try them if your suffering after having a baby or monthly cycle they really do work.

1 person liked this.
Annbonari 's avatar  Annbonari 16/01/2012 22:45

Thanks Lisa, I was looking for the doses that most take,,,,Menopause is why i'm taking it...I'm on my first day and excited to see that it works for all you!

2 people liked this.
Famous1978 's avatar  Famous1978 21/06/2012 15:25

I just started taking it about 2 weeks ago 500mg and I do not see a difference.

Deepak1007 's avatar  Deepak1007 02/07/2012 04:19

Check if you get pure oil instead of gel caps.

Candi 's avatar  Candi 31/03/2011 13:49

I've been taking herbs for about five years, and I really
believe in them, and herbal teas are great.

1 person liked this.
Preciousfleur14 's avatar  Preciousfleur14 20/03/2011 19:08

This supplement works wonders, I noticed relief in breast pain symptoms the very first day. I have to admit I was supposed to take this long ago since it was recommend by my NP but did not. I am so glad I finally tried it because it really works. I'm using one capsule twice daily.

1 person liked this.
Ruby Buitizon Sabado 's avatar  Ruby Buitizon Sabado 31/01/2011 15:26

yes, very well. after my total hysterectomy i combine evening primrose oil and i feel the wonder of transpormation into a normal and glowing outlook. at 53 , i still feel the vibrant of my youth, my good memory, a glowing sin, healthy scalp, strong teeth, after all my wellness check up, my doctor always give me a FIT result. thank you for this supplement which i was albe to discover from my trip in singapore.

1 person liked this.
Kimmoodley 's avatar  Kimmoodley 22/02/2011 07:55

When do you take it? The morning or evening?

19 people liked this.
youcrazycat 's avatar  youcrazycat 06/02/2011 18:35

Do you take just this or other supplements?

5 people liked this.
Pobletej9995 's avatar  Pobletej9995 06/01/2011 06:34

i recommended it to a friend who claims that her PMS has diminish since taking it.

1 person liked this.
lwlwlwlwlwl 's avatar  lwlwlwlwlwl 23/10/2014 02:09

1st month - made me ultra-depressed and tearful - wasnt even at time of month fir pms symptoms. Wont take again.

fari 's avatar  fari 30/09/2014 16:51

Can i use it during periods ???
And what is the perfect time to take capsule ? After breakfast or dinner ??

Susan Snyder 's avatar  Susan Snyder 15/09/2014 09:53

Before taking EPO, I suffered from horrible, debilitating cramps during my periods. I started taking them only once daily so it took about three months to become effective. After that, my periods were much easier and lighter, my skin looked great, and I felt better. The lady at the health food store told me I could increase the dosage. And they were even more effective. Then, I moved and stopped taking them which was a mistake because all the symptoms returned. I'm back on them now and trying to take them three times a day. I'll never stop taking them. Never.

Anu 's avatar  Anu 14/09/2014 18:14

It worked wonders for me. I used to take 8 a day when i was in a lot of stress but gradually rediced to 3 /4 a day.
I love these capsules... Whenever i feel angry, depressed i take them

Sara Black 's avatar  Sara Black 14/03/2014 01:44

Does this interact with Thyroid meds at all?

G 's avatar  G 20/02/2014 05:48

can uncle of mine at 68 hypertensive and abt to go on dialysis ok to take evening primrose?

tt 's avatar  tt 07/02/2014 22:07

I have been taking primrose for about four months now and I have had a major decrease in cramps. And my skin has less breakouts. I cut the capsule open from time to time and put it directly on my face and my skin looks more radiant in the morning instead of dry and dull. it took about a month before I could see and feel the benefits.

MommaB 's avatar  MommaB 17/01/2014 20:18

I actually bought it today for the first time. My office manager suggested it after an unfortunate and embarassing moment in time where I had an awful deep coughing fit at work and lost total control of my bladder. She had to escort me to my car with her coat wrapped around my waist. Her mother suffered from bladder weakness and has great success with it so she started taking it also and raved about its benefits for this particular problem. I have always had a bit of a weakness but it has gotten worse thru menopause and age. I'll be 50 in two weeks. Has anyone else taken it to help with their bladder weakness? If so, have you had success?

esther 's avatar  esther 16/01/2014 03:02

hye...I m the new user of evening primrose oil(epo)...I wanted to know did the epo lose weight?
I m trying to control my weight...my husband said I m getting fat....

peteski 's avatar  peteski 06/01/2014 10:27

i am a 39 year old mum of four and have been taking evening prim oil for at least 2 years.i recently stopped for a month because i was going on holidays i thought it would do no harm to have a break what a bad move that was.....i had my period for 4 days then a week later started spotting bad back and abdo pain shocking mood swings and my face in particular started burning up i am presuming hot flushes.i think i have prob been perimenopause for awhile and the primrose was keeping symptoms at bay i will never stop again and after just 2 days at 3 caps a day feel better already.i have read studies that say it dosnt work well study or no study i know it works .please try dont suffer another day of perimenopause hell !!!!!!!

LisaMarie 's avatar  LisaMarie 16/11/2013 00:35

After having a (fibro cyst) lump found during a mammogram, the surgery placed me on 3000 mg a day, The lump disappeared. Also it prolonged my need for a hysterectomy. Also eased my back pain. After about a year I felt so good I quit taking it, and was in for the hysterectomy within weeks of ending it..

realman100 's avatar  realman100 09/11/2013 11:29

My old boss got me into Primrose Oil. I told her how bad my periods get and how much pain I'm in - I have dysmenorrhea - and she bought me a box. I took a capsule a day (1000 mg) for a month. The next month I had no PMS symptoms - breasts/nipple pain, moodiness, gas. My cramps were minimized and I had no vomiting or dizziness. I have continued to use them to minimize all of these pains, plus it helps my acne throughout the month. I love this pill, it has really helped me tremendously.

Calli 's avatar  Calli 09/11/2013 10:22

I started taking evening primrose oil 2 weeks ago b/c I heard it helps with period cramps and mood swings. Idk about that yet b/c I haven't had my cycle. But I can say this supplement has increased my libido tremendously! It's crazy really, I haven't 'wanted' to have sex in a VERY long while. But now... oh my goodness ladies you just need to get you some of these! I also feel happier, much happier, I struggle with depression and I've just been so positive and upbeat and these supplements are the only change I've made. I'm so glad I found these little wonders! I take 1000 mg once a day.

janie 's avatar  janie 27/10/2013 05:25

is it safe to take EPO for me who is 16 years old? shall i take them for years or months only?

sbs51 's avatar  sbs51 14/10/2013 02:53

Is EPO recommended for men? If yes what about the person of 62 yrs & on hypertensive drug with statin. The local doctor was consulted, he couldn't advice, ( he has not heard about EPO)
Request advice

EOPmama 's avatar  EOPmama 29/09/2013 08:06

At 39 years of age, I was having very painful periods. I did some research to figure out why the cramps had become so debilitating and decided to try evening primrose oil to try to ease the cramping. I took just one pill and the next day, began spotting. I was still about a week away from my period and did not wish to begin it so soon, so I stopped taking it immediately. Three weeks later, I discovered I was pregnant! I conceived two days after taking the supplement. Apparently, the spotting was from ovulating. Thing is, I had ovulated the week before, so it was the EPO that made me ovulate a second time. I am now the proud mother of a beautiful 9 month old baby boy thanks to this little miracle pill! So, for anyone out there having difficulty conceiving, I would definitely give EPO a try!

rosebud 's avatar  rosebud 28/09/2013 14:30

Hi, I was prescribed epo back in the middle 90's when my doc diagnosed ME. I am absolutely convinced it helped although it took a long time. I'm thinking of taking it again as some of the signs come back more often, but I have been well for ages. Stress seems to kick- start trouble. I haven't taken it for maybe 17yrs. Took it for about 5yrs. I think.

charlene 's avatar  charlene 21/09/2013 10:22

i used to take epo and my skin used to be supple all the time- however a few days ago, i changed the brand because the pills were finished, its still evening primrose oil and im taking the same dose. its causing me flaked skin its been a week since. :/ i dont know what to do?

HerbWisdom 's avatar  HerbWisdom 25/09/2013 13:17

Thank you for your question. It sounds like the new EPO may not be of the same high quality as the first one, and also, though you say it is the same dosage, have you checked if the new one contains and other ingredients? It is always best to buy pure herbs and steer clear of any with fillers and binders as for the most part there is no need for these except to keep costs down!
I hope you find a new brand that you are happy with again :)

Smiley 's avatar  Smiley 23/08/2013 09:18

I found the article very beneficial.. it has listed benefits of EPO for both male and female.. Thanks for putting in some effort to furnish such a nice post..

HerbWisdom 's avatar  HerbWisdom 04/09/2013 12:28

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is much appreciated!
Best regards

Tinna 's avatar  Tinna 28/05/2013 19:38

Hello which brand of evening primrose oil is good especially for weight loss.

Witty 's avatar  Witty 03/04/2013 05:57

I have read a lot of the comments about EPO on here tonight and I noticed that not many people tell just exactly how many milligrams they take each day to receive these great benefits. Some do but it doesn't seem to be consistent so could more of you please share how much EPO you take each day with the rest of us? I have only been taking it for a few days now and I take 3/500mg capsules twice a day with food. I have Multiple Sclerosis so I really really hope this helps. It sure seems to have many good benefits so here's hoping for the best for us all....

Tara 's avatar  Tara 31/03/2013 04:40

I swear by the GNC brand - the only one that works for me. I take 2 500/mg capsules daily for PCOS. I've noticed extremely tender breast and my face is breaking out again. Should I up the dosage and why would it stop work all of a sudden? Avid user since diagnosed 2006.

dolcebella 's avatar  dolcebella 20/03/2013 22:44

I'm 52 years old, and my hot flashes started a month ago. I tried black cohash only to be taken to the emergency department due to allergic reactions. I continued my research. EPO along with sage has completely eliminated my hot flashes! I went from waking up several times throughout the night to a complete night's sleep. I'm no longer reaching for a sweater during the day after a 5- minute hot flash. I'm SO thankful I found these little gems!

jg 's avatar  jg 19/03/2013 16:30

is evening primrose good for men with Psoriases

Anonymous 's avatar  Anonymous 09/03/2013 23:01

do they sell it at publix?

maldita 's avatar  maldita 09/03/2013 11:21

Can I use EPO while taking glutathione?

melany 's avatar  melany 05/03/2013 18:12

Does Primrose Oil make you any less fertile?

happyfeet 's avatar  happyfeet 27/02/2013 22:40

this herbal supplement has helped me so much its truely a miracle if i would have known about it yrs earlier i would have saved myself alot of stress and heartache over my terrible pms and bloating .. it also helped with irritaTION mood swings and headaches .

lisa 's avatar  lisa 30/01/2013 02:05

I have used evening primrose oil for years for cystic breasts and have found that it works really well and notice a difference when not taking it. I have also had a regular period, no trouble with infertility or women problems ever . Lisa age 44

Lindalu Linda 's avatar  Lindalu Linda 28/08/2014 22:00

I have had for 2 mounth takin it , sins I was diagnosed with cyst's in breast. After 3 years ,steel no pain and cyst are long gone!!! 1 capsule Primrose +120GLA morning and 1 Primrose evening .

Naomi Pacleb 's avatar  Naomi Pacleb 20/01/2013 14:34

I am a user of evening primrose oil (4 months now) and I can say it is really effective. Lessened my migraine attacks, menstrual cramps, pain and hardness of breast before and during menstrual periods, insomnia, and also no more constipation....^_^.... I am highly recommending this herb to everyone! Try it!

Landon 's avatar  Landon 19/01/2013 16:45

I am a 62 year old male, was diagnosed with MS and I have seen research where EPO may help with some of the symptoms/discomfort. Does anybody have any firsthand information on the use of EPO and if so what was your dose per day. Currently taking Rebif injections. Thanks for any information one may have.

Jbear 's avatar  Jbear 12/01/2013 08:05

Help, I started taking Evening Primrose and Black Cohosh together. My hot flashes didn't improve with just the Black Cohosh, but with the EPO my hot flashes were gone. I stopped having periods for almost 10 months, but when I started taking these two together, I became regular again for the last 6 months. My mood improved and my anxiety/panic lessened. My sex drive was better then ever and I had the opposite of vaginal dryness. This was working perfect until I replaced my black cohosh with a higher mg and different brand... I am not completely sure it is the black cohosh (it could be a timing thing), but my hair has been falling out in fist fulls! I thought this stuff was suppose to help keep someone from having hair loss, and it seemed to be causing it. Anyone else know anything about hair loss and these two herbs? I stopped taking them for 1 month and my hair loss was typical again.... but my moods have caused me to go back on it...and there goes my hair!

Shane Robert Thurman 's avatar  Shane Robert Thurman 08/01/2013 03:20

I've been using it for over a year and the swollen arthritic finger which had limited mobility is completely normal. I have almost no aches and pains in the hip joints and back I was used to. I also have less fat around the stomach. At the same time i started evening primrose I also introduced flax seed oil and psyllium husks.

CL 's avatar  CL 24/12/2012 04:37

this is OBVIOUSLY a bias article about Evening Primrose Oil. It only stated the Pro and didn't say anything about the Con. Do your own research.

Don 's avatar  Don 29/11/2012 16:11

I've taken for over 30 years for my ADD. It helps greatly for my memory, pulling out names and controling impluses

mel 's avatar  mel 25/11/2012 16:31

lately i taken this EPO softgel 1000mg im 46 yrs old my dctor recomment of these im taking 1 tablet after dinner..

ernie 's avatar  ernie 16/11/2012 17:29

I would like to know can 27 years old take this supplement?

eunice 's avatar  eunice 30/10/2012 07:12

This is realy a fantastic stuff.I started taking epo to cure my pimples few months ago,the pimples started clearing,but to surprise my nails that would break and peel hardened,looked better,and started growing.Thanks to epo

Rani 's avatar  Rani 12/10/2012 21:25

Does anyone know if this would help with chronic urticuria

paxx 's avatar  paxx 25/09/2012 21:50

i have never taken it in pill form so i want to know if the oil is any good?? i use it on my face after i wash it... help!!!

Jslev16 's avatar  Jslev16 13/09/2012 11:19

Has anyone had luck using epo for migraines? I get awful migraines and I was told this mIght work to prevent them.

reganno 's avatar  reganno 08/09/2012 20:44

just started taking epo today..hoping this helps with the hot flashes that are driving me crazy!!!!

hale 's avatar  hale 04/09/2012 09:31

Does Evening Primrose oil capsules can work for white hiars. i am male age 31. my all hiars of head and beard turned white. can i take EPO for it??????????????????

carmen 's avatar  carmen 24/07/2012 22:49

Can a 25 year old man take it for deppration

Ivy3501 's avatar  Ivy3501 30/06/2012 18:44

I had sever vertigo while taking 1000mg 2x a day.  Had the sensation of moving when I wasn't moving, it was awful.  Stopped for a couple of days and so far have been ok taking 1000mg just at bedtime.  I feel a little more energetic while taking it and every little bit of energy is a big deal for me as I have severe chronic fatigue syndrome and fibromyalgia and neuropathy in my feet.  When I was off it I felt like my energy source had been unplugged.  If I stayed off it for a month or two maybe I would have been ok, but wanted to get back on it as soon as I could. My CRP is always 8 or higher, so anti-inflammatory action is important any way I can get it.

Saeric07 's avatar  Saeric07 26/06/2012 05:20

Can  it be taken by men

Strawberryp13 's avatar  Strawberryp13 29/05/2012 00:11

I have heard Evening Primrose Oil capsules can help induce labor.  I am 3cm dilated and 8% effaced.  Are there success stories with taking the capsule by mouth to induce labor?  I have also heard you can insert it to soften the cervix, but I wouldn't want to try that... 

Mommyto4grls06 's avatar  Mommyto4grls06 30/05/2012 10:30

It worked for me, but I inserted them "up there". Also having sex can soften your cervix as well since the man's semen can help soften the cervix. But if your body isn't ready to go into labor, nothing is going to help. So, the best way to go into labor is to just wait and let your baby decide when he or she is ready to come out. :-)

strawberryp13 's avatar  strawberryp13 29/05/2012 00:12

I meant 80% effaced, sorry.

Sue Finch1 's avatar  Sue Finch1 19/05/2012 10:45

i started to take evening Primrose about 3 weeks ago and since then have been having night sweats (hot flushes and waking up to use the loo) at least twice in the night at 3am and 5am ... im just on the verge of going thru the menopause and last year had hot flushes and waking up in the night ... then i started to take Vitamin B6 which really helped havnt had a hot flush or waking up to go pee for about 4 months .. now tho as well as waking up ,hot flushes im getting spotty .. read some reviews on here and all said the same that EPO is great then i read one review saying she has started to get spotty just need to know is this down to placebo thinking it isnt working and its all in my mind cuz of bad reviewson other forums or does it really work and when will i knw it has worked !!! oh by the way the only thing which has changed is my appietite and ive lost a few lbs in weight .. but even saying that im craving bread ,pastry biscuits (which normaly i dont) ... Confused.com !!!! :-(

Helen 's avatar  Helen 02/03/2012 05:50

I've been using epo for about a year now for my daughter who is now 3 1/2 yrs old. She's been suffering from eczema since she was a baby, steroids cream didn't help her. I see good changes in her skin with lesser dry spot in her skin. My question is how safe it is to use for a child, or what would be the side effect?

guest 's avatar  guest 02/03/2012 04:19

Primrose oils ,I feel sleepy so I don't take daytime, night time I take it.I am not sure it good for skin, but defenetly help for PMS for me, anti- hysteria . lol

phullie 's avatar  phullie 27/02/2012 18:46

could i take evening primrose oil, even though im under 25 years old?

Kate 's avatar  Kate 29/02/2012 00:28

 Yes. I wish I would have started it earlier! 

Joint Pain Oil 's avatar  Joint Pain Oil 27/02/2012 10:40

 Is this oil also be used for facial hairs? Will thiis be safe? Let me know.

Marianlivermore 's avatar  Marianlivermore 12/01/2012 13:44

I can't find any reference to not being able to take Evening Oil of Primrose with Lipidor?  as stated on the Home page.

HerbWisdom 's avatar  HerbWisdom 12/01/2012 14:56

Thank you for your feedback. I can't find any reference to Lipidor? Where exactly did you see this please?
Best regards

Aminayasir1 's avatar  Aminayasir1 14/12/2011 03:33

Hi .I am interested for weight lost n skin replenishment .do I have to
take primrose oil permanently?

may 's avatar  may 30/09/2011 14:59

i want to give it to my 3 year old daughter who suffers from eczema and food allergies, how much should I give it to her in a day

Kbest772 's avatar  Kbest772 24/09/2011 15:49

I'd been using EPO (with vitamin E) for more than a year for hot flashes, along with ever-increasing doses of natural estrogen cream. I got so I couldn't tolerate the breast swelling and pain, and decided to try increasing my EPO and E intake.

I went from 1 capsule of each (in whatever the usual dosage is ... 400 mg or IU I think), usually twice a day ... to at least 2 capsules of each, at least 3 times a day (sometimes even more EPO; I take it whenever I think of it and have it handy). Concurrently, I started reducing how much estrogen cream I used.

Wow, what I difference! It's almost hard to believe; it's the fastest and most dramatic improvement from a supplement that I've ever experienced. My face was always hot, it seemed, and sometimes even my ears would flush bright red for hours. I kept my A/C at 68 degrees and was still often uncomfortable.

Now, the thermostat is set at 70 or 72, and if I'm just sitting watching TV or reading, I'm sometimes on the cool side! Since increasing EPO, I have had very few rosacea episodes, very few ear flushings, and the few hot flashes I get are now truly brief flashes.

Sometimes I get heartburn from the EPO; one of my dr. recommended keeping it in freezer, because taking it cold slows down the rate the capsule disintegrates. This definitely makes a difference for me, but in order to take it more often, I often take it at room temp ... it's about the only thing that knowingly causing heartburn is worth doing!

Buddyhanson46 's avatar  Buddyhanson46 21/09/2011 02:32

can a man take primrose

Buddyhanson46 's avatar  Buddyhanson46 21/09/2011 02:29

can a man take these pils
 

Albie Field 's avatar  Albie Field 21/09/2011 02:30

sorry can a man take primrose oil
 

2 people liked this.
Deepak1007 's avatar  Deepak1007 02/07/2012 04:17

Yes ! It just a natural oil.

Eandbevans 's avatar  Eandbevans 25/08/2011 21:17

I am 66yrs old for 10 months i have had an ache in the right breast area. After many tests with clear results I tried EPO after 4 capsuals the ache has gone I cannot believe it. Every day I think it might come back , so far it hasn't.

Junecaswell 's avatar  Junecaswell 14/05/2011 12:53

 are they good to level your hormone balance

Lululovesdave-x 's avatar  Lululovesdave-x 23/04/2011 19:20

Ive been taking Evening Primrose Oil for 12 days now. Ive suddenly broken out in spots witch is weird for me as i never get spots untill my period is due and thats 3 weeks away and normally its just the odd spot, at the moment theres a new one on my face every hour! Was wondering if Evening primrose oil can cause this?

marie  's avatar  marie  06/03/2011 21:42

this is fantastic for curing pmt.

Elesha hosein 's avatar  Elesha hosein 06/03/2011 02:40

I did not have a period for eight years. I began taking the primrose caplets about one year ago. for the past four month now my period has been returning this nothing of a miracle for me.

Siemone 's avatar  Siemone 14/02/2011 14:58

I have had terrible PMS symptoms from as long as I know myself. The cramps are AWFUL and usually when I have them, I am unable to even stand up, much less function like a normal human being. In 2009, I started vomiting with the onset of severe cramps, usually between 2-3 times on the first day of my period. I've tried just about every medication and herbal remedy available to me but they all only work for a limited time then the effectiveness always seems to be reduced until eventually rendered ineffective. I recently learnt that evening primrose oil can provide relief for cramps and other PMS symptoms and decided to try it. I have been taking an organic evening primrose oil supplement in the form of a once-a-day capsule (supposedly a good quality supplement) every day for the past 2 weeks in the hope that I would feel a difference in my next period. However, my period came yesterday and as usual, I was doubled up in bed all day with cramps and vomited twice. Now I want to know: how long do I have to be taking this for before I can actually see and feel some improvement? Help!

Jenseromano 's avatar  Jenseromano 22/02/2011 22:06

Give it a good solid month. Make sure you take it three times a day everyday. You will notice a difference in your cramps. My daughter also takes two motrins the day before before she starts her period. the day of and the day after as prescribed by her doctor until the primrose has had a chance to build up in her system.

2 people liked this.