Sage Reviews (Salvia Officinalis)


Curious 's avatar  Curious 17/02/2011 08:19

Can I use fresh leaves also to make tea? And how much should be taken?

16 people liked this.
La 's avatar  La 19/12/2014 17:45

I usually boil a fistful of fresh leaves in a big pot of water and store in several glass jars in the fridge after it cools down. When I am about to consume it, I halfway fill a mug and add water. Add honey if u cant stomach the taste. I also use this tea soaked in a rag (undiluted) to use topically. Works like a charm ;)

Ryanjayatutaan 's avatar  Ryanjayatutaan 28/06/2011 13:25

does anyone knows which and where I can buy sage tea? which brand of sage tea is more effective or better? please advice. thanks

9 people liked this.
Beloved703 's avatar  Beloved703 11/04/2014 06:50

You can make your own if you have the time. Bring water to a boil then add sage leaves or powder. Boil for 10-15 minutes then use as needed.

2 people liked this.
bruce 's avatar  bruce 20/06/2014 10:29

Use the ordinary sage that you buy in the Supermarket try the Dried Leaves half a teaspoon in a boiling cup of water allow to stand for +-20 minutes

purity 's avatar  purity 31/03/2011 10:10

I usually don't leave comments on any websites but I had to leave this one because it may help someone out there. I don't take pain killer "drugs" and I learnt that sage is good for headaches. I tried it at least three times so far when I've had terrible headaches and boy is it true that it works! The headache was gone in literally less than five minutes after finishing my cup of tea! Amazing! Thank God for the healing power of herbs!

4 people liked this.
K5jtm 's avatar  K5jtm 10/10/2010 11:27

good for laryngitus.

4 people liked this.
Karen 's avatar  Karen 21/02/2011 06:23

on steriods for ulcerative colitis which cause excessive sweating at night. A couple of sage tea drinks at night have made a MASSIVE difference. Having read the other benefits, it will help with the other side effects of the steriods and condition (reduced immune system, fatigue, mouth ulcers, inflamation) And all I've got to do is have a drink of tea!

3 people liked this.
Gauthiergary 's avatar  Gauthiergary 24/05/2011 03:36

I feel it makes me less nervous. less depressed

2 people liked this.
Meron Abebe 's avatar  Meron Abebe 19/07/2014 13:17

i choose to get sage in organic Italian's supermarket and a year ago i started growing my own ... when the wind blows the aroma is heavenly ! plus it isn't hard to grow sage ... it isn't needy ... there is a huge when you have it in your pots or gardens ...
i make my sage tea like Arab's way . Boil water , remove from fire and add black tea and handful of sage and let it sit for 4 to 5 min and strain , add sugar as desired and enjoy ! ( i am not an Arab , but i saw this while i visited Cairo , Egypt few years ago and fell in love )
oh ! Arab's put sugar first in the boiling water to be exact . Any Arab's out here ???

1 person liked this.
deedee 's avatar  deedee 13/02/2014 18:42

I have sage plants and the fuzzy side also helps whiten teeth. I rub the fuzzy part on my teeth until it squeaks. One leaf per tooth. I did that for one week and it was better than the over the counter teeth whiteners.

1 person liked this.
Guest 's avatar  Guest 21/02/2014 19:53

My teeth were very stained from coffee etc.
I put a "little pinch of dried GROUND SAGE"
on my toothbrush & toothpaste.
It made my teeth very white, shiny, and polished.
I thank God and call it a Miracle!

Rose 's avatar  Rose 26/02/2014 03:21

PLEASE DON'T TRY BRUSHING WITH GROUND SAGE LIKE I DID! AFTER HEARING IT CAN DARKEN GREY HAIR, I STOPPED USING IT. I'LL LOOK FOR A PLANT

AND TRY THE FUZZY LEAVES LIKE DEEDEE DID.
I TRIED TO DELETE MY LAST POST, AND WAS UNABLE TO. I HOPE PEOPLE READ THIS BEFORE TRYING THE GROUND SAGE LIKE I DID!!! (PLEASE FORGIVE ME).

Rose 's avatar  Rose 26/02/2014 03:10

I will look for a sage plant and try that!

Jaybird_free 's avatar  Jaybird_free 04/09/2011 02:42

This is the best thing I have ever used for IBS, mine is so bad I can't move but this works great. I buy dried sage at the mexican store for 79 cents a pack and it last for a couple weeks. I put the sage leaves about 2 pinches in hot water and let it set for 10 minutes strain it and add sweetener drink it and in 10 minutes the pain is gone.

1 person liked this.
Tamjohnson120 's avatar  Tamjohnson120 20/07/2011 00:01

Can you use ground sage instead of leafs?

1 person liked this.
rockiejock 's avatar  rockiejock 16/02/2011 12:50

Such an awareness towards the Sage benefits are good for the people who are facing out the problem say excessive sweating..

<a href="http://www.stopsweat.com/hyperhidrosis.htm">hyperhidrosis</a>

1 person liked this.
Evesmatrix2000 's avatar  Evesmatrix2000 27/12/2010 08:31

I JUST CAME ACROOSS THIS Article and i have beeing usuing sage for about 4moths now. Sage tea with Honey and Lemon. I suffer from Panic attacks and Axiety attacks. When i am around too many people and i start feeling like i need space or can breathd, I just need 2be alone in a quiet space. Sage helps be deal. Off course i take my meds but Sage helps me alot and sometimes i even add Ginger.

1 person liked this.
Damian 's avatar  Damian 27/01/2011 05:03

I too suffer from Panic Attacks and I did not know until now that Sage would help in this to a great extent. I am going to try it out. But In my country I don't think we have the fresh stuff. I managed to get the Australia dried stuff . Can I drink it like drinking Tea. I would like to know.

2 people liked this.
Matthew R Young 's avatar  Matthew R Young 02/02/2011 04:38

Yes, you can infuse the dry leaves to make tea. Just add boiled water and cover for five minutes.( covering were preserve essential oils in the tea) Basic rule is use a teaspoon to pint for medicinal value, yet dilute to any taste level you wish with water. It can be quite strong.

4 people liked this.
La 's avatar  La 19/12/2014 17:57

I put dried sage (regular bottled herb at regular supermarket) in warm almond oil and stored it in a dark bottle in a closet for 3 weeks. I then strained it and added to a spray bottle. I used it to treat cuts, scrapes, bug bites and any skin irritations that me or my kid experienced last summer. Sage is so awesome.

Wzy 's avatar  Wzy 11/11/2014 09:11

I've been taking the tincture made by a local herbalist for me. While I would not recommend depending on it for mental health concerns, it really has helped in alleviating heaty pre-menopausal symptoms (in conjunction with <a href="http://www.herbwisdom.com/herb-dong-quai.html">Dong Quai</A>). And I only need to use it in small amounts so it's turned out to be cost effective.

Mobil1 's avatar  Mobil1 20/10/2014 03:44

ok i want to try sage tea for my hand sweating

maged  gouda 's avatar  maged gouda 12/08/2014 13:18

how it work for treat scalp from dandruff & for treat of vaginal bacteria & vaginal fungal

Sharon 's avatar  Sharon 17/07/2014 13:25

I have recently joined the age group for women where hot flushes are becoming a problem. Sage was recommended to me to help alleviate my syptoms and it really has worked.

Lisa 's avatar  Lisa 08/07/2014 11:36

I used sage last night (grown and dried by me) for Menopause symptoms. I slept like a rock last night. I had only one brief hot flash that could barely be called a hot flash. I woke up, turned over and it was already done. No sweats or anything. Will be using this a lot.
I crushed 3 leaves, and mixed them with Gunpowder Chinese Green tea, and put into my 1 cup sized tea ball. Steeped in very hot water for 4 min. Drank 1/3 and went to bed. When I had the one hot flash, I got up went and drank 3-4 more swallows of the tea, and this morning I finished the cup. Wonderful flavor, and it was tasty hot or cold.

Raven

Lane 's avatar  Lane 06/07/2014 16:15

sage works well for me, takes away headache and nervous tension, Relaxing and clean feeling after drinking tea!

Beloved703 's avatar  Beloved703 11/04/2014 06:49

I was advised by my holistic doctor to bring water to a boil then add sage. Preferrably fresh sage leaves if not sage can be found in the spice aisle. This was advised for nausea, and stomach bloating cause by gastritis. I also faced severe itching due to allergies, and a skin fungus. I bathed in it after brewing, and washed my face and hair with it. It soothed my skin, and stopped me from itching within minutes. If you are a naturalist such as myself who would rather not pop drugs into your system give it a try.

Merridy King 's avatar  Merridy King 13/11/2013 11:41

I have been putting 4 fresh sage leaves with my camomile tea before bed. Not only are my hot flushes greatly reduced, I am sleeping better than I have done in years. I am 55, and have tried many menopause treatments, but sage tea is by far the best. I love it.

Dani 's avatar  Dani 23/09/2013 05:34

Gives a clear head and a good feeling in the stomach. Calming, strengthening effect after feeling weak and under the weather.
I had the dried herb before and also fresh leaves from the garden.
I will definitely use it again anytime I feel a stress related headache.
It smells fragrant and is one of the best herbs I grow. Good stuff.
Not to mention the beautiful blue flower spikes when in bloom.

New Bee 's avatar  New Bee 28/06/2013 08:00

After suffering debilitating of all kinds of illnesses, I stumbled on a food supplement with added sage. As nothing whatever so ever had made me feel better or at my best, I came to a conclusion that sage might be the answer.


On researching here, most of my ailments were mentioned especially trapped mucus/bronchitis, severe cough, and general upper respiratory issues. After just one day I felt new again, I was spruced out in every nook and cranny of my body, I won't give vivid details, but you can imagine that.


By the way, this is my first ever review on any website. I hope and pray that anyone who have felt the way I did, finds this review useful too. And a Big thank you to the researchers, and Mother Nature for Power of healing herbs.

joselyn 's avatar  joselyn 25/04/2013 09:37

if u like to turn your grey hair naturaly black try this make a strong infusion with sage leaves 4tbsp to 1cup water apply this water to the hair roots every day and will find a magic change after some days .when the desired colour is obtaineduse it once aweek

Thailemai Nadasan 's avatar  Thailemai Nadasan 27/03/2013 08:08

which brand of sage tea is best recommended

Thailemai Nadasan 's avatar  Thailemai Nadasan 27/03/2013 08:07

where can I purchase sage tea in Singapore!

fools rush in 's avatar  fools rush in 18/03/2013 10:49

can you grow sage in your home , will the smell help you body in any way

Krici L Ramos 's avatar  Krici L Ramos 14/02/2013 00:54

I have always suffered from excessive sweating and most recently began to have night sweats. I started drinking an infusion of the sage leaves as a tea and I don't have over active sweat glands anymore and I don't have night sweats anymore. I drink a cup in the morning and one in the evening. This is a powerful herb!

edmund 's avatar  edmund 12/02/2013 21:10

Do I get Sage tea in South Africa&if so where will I get it

Earnestine 's avatar  Earnestine 17/06/2014 03:28

It's easy to grow your own sage. I have too large sage plants that are 2 years old. They are perennials and grow back year after year. I clip them daily and make tea every morning.

doug rivard 's avatar  doug rivard 06/02/2013 21:55

need sage leaf for smudging (sp?) - 603.437.0208 - bulk - thanks. Doug

Random  's avatar  Random  16/01/2013 19:21

I use sage to treat boils/abscesses. It works really well at stopping the pain and helping with the inflammation. It also helps to speed up the time it takes for the boil to pop. Directions: get a package of sage from a grocery store, boil 1/4cup of water on the stove with the sage leaves (literally JUST until you notice the water boiling) turn off the stove and let the sage leaves sit. I usually put them in a small tupperware container so they can cool down. Once they're cool you will squeeze the liquid out of them, you can put the liquid on gauze and cover your boil, or just apply topically. I use gauze because the sage extract doesn't dry up and it will continue to soothe the boil/abscess.

Evelyn Lazu 's avatar  Evelyn Lazu 18/07/2012 01:55

Did sage work for diabetic type 2?

baya 's avatar  baya 04/07/2012 22:32

i am using sage leaves tea sometimes when i feel not confortable after having lunch or dinner ; and really i feel very good after that ;specially when i take it with honey.

Mornin' 's avatar  Mornin' 09/04/2012 22:22

A friend gifted me a box of sage tea (bags),  it is delicious! I think I've found a new favorite herb tea! 

Glasoz 's avatar  Glasoz 19/03/2012 15:11

I have read the many reviews posted re sage and I was wondering if a doctor could advise me. I have had breast cancer twice with chemo, radio and a double mastectomy. I am on aromasin for this. For the menopause symptoms, although I am not depressed I am on efexor. I have also been diagnosed with lymphocytic colitis and am on entocort. I have heard of sage capsules to help with the many symtoms of menopause. Sleepless nights, sweating, the list goes on. I would like to go off the efexsor and my question is, can I take sage capsules with the above medications that I am on safely?

lou 's avatar  lou 16/03/2012 07:07

I had the most terrible pmt throughout my life, and when the menopause started I thought I was going mad! then I read in a magazine about Sage leaf capsules, so decided to give them a try, Well I can report that I have been taking 4 capsules a day for the last 6  months and it has changed my life!! No sweats, no depression or anxiety, my teeth and gums are healthier and I now sleep like a log after having insomnia for years. I cant recommend sage leaf enough. I take 285mg rapid release capsules. I think they would be better and more convenient to take than tea. I wish I had heard about them years ago.

Joann 's avatar  Joann 07/03/2012 07:28

I had a severe cough, much like bronchitis, had  visited  many doctors, specialists...2 alergists...Dr. Oz  suggested anyone  w/excess mucus  should use  Oil of Sage,  I  thought that was my problem all along, so I got some and used it. W/in  5 days  I stopped coughing.   I  quit taking  the sage  and  5 mos later the cough is back, so I am taking  Sage again  and will not  stop using it.  Miracle  drug for me.

ihavethevictory_1 's avatar  ihavethevictory_1 01/03/2012 16:07

Hi this is my first time trying Sage Tea. I'm excitited about the outcome on how the Sage Tea works.  

kumar 's avatar  kumar 23/02/2012 15:28

Herbal medicines have very few or no side effects, when used in
appropriate dosages. Rarely, the herb could lead to headache or a
stomach upset. Over-dose of medicines could lead to serious health
issues and even death.
<br /><a href="www.lactobacillus-acidophilusx.com">acidophilus</a>

sue 's avatar  sue 17/02/2012 21:16

I am almost 54 and have suffered from pmt all my life, with too many symptoms to mention. I started the perimenopause at 50 and  felt I was going mad. I had night sweats to contend with as well as everything else that goes with it. I tried everthing on the market, nothing worked. UNTIL, one day 6 months ago i saw an article about Sage leaf pills and decided to try them. I can say this honestly that since I have taken them 4 times a day 285mg, 2 in the morning and 2 before bed, my symptoms have disappeared. I cant believe it. I feel like a totally different person. No more moods, sweats, I slep like a log whereas before i was awake half the night, I cant recommend
sage enough. I dont know if the tea is any good as i am happy enough on the pills. My skin is clear too. So many good benefits. I cant praise them highly enough, neither can my husband!

Jo 's avatar  Jo 15/02/2012 16:29

I love Rishi Tea-- Bergamot Sage.

Gh6 's avatar  Gh6 24/11/2011 07:10

I was having problems with an external candida infection, and decided to give Lady Soma a try.  They have the "Lady Soma Candida Advance Cleanse". They did seem to help clear the infection up faster. It's important to attack both the candida inside and outside when you're trying to get rid of an infection. 

Surprisingly, most people have candida in their systems, but don't notice any symptoms. Even if you don't end up with itching, flaking, redness, or other external systems, candida can be causing your body problems on the inside and contributing to variety of symptoms many people never guess could be from bad intestinal flora (digestive issues, skin problems, trouble concentrating, constant tiredness, anxiety, mood swings, OCD, irritability, headaches, cravings for sweets, difficulty losing weight, etc.). The Lady Soma Candida Pills are an easy way to help your body win the fight against candida and get a healthy balance of good intestinal flora back in its place. Also, for any of you trying to fight it on the outside as well as the inside, I recommend this.

Abdulmageed 's avatar  Abdulmageed 26/09/2011 20:03

It stops vomiting after being chewed or drunk as tea- warm.
It is good for spinal cord and for nerves.
Very good for digestion and heart burning.

PaÈ™ca Alexandru 's avatar  PaÈ™ca Alexandru 25/09/2011 21:43

While typing this I'm chewing on fresh sage leaves.
I'm doing that after a double extraction and possibly to save myself from an eventual apical resection.
It's really calming the pain and, a good while ago, made a pretty big difference while akin on an abscess.
The idea is to chew a leave or two and keep them on the gums, moving and massaging around from time to time for a couple of minutes. (make it 20 or 30 mins )
It looks as effective as garlic but without the garlic associated pain ;) 

AbdulmageedAhmed 's avatar  AbdulmageedAhmed 16/09/2011 17:38

it stops vomiting immediately.
it is good for neuro problems. Good for relieving mensuration problems.
good for digestion problems.
Boil a cup of water first then put a tea spoon of sage leaves and leave on stove for one minute only then put off the stove, then leave it for 5 minutes ,sieve it and drink with or w/o sugar.
Boiling sage directly from the beginning will lose some volatile oil.

Karen 's avatar  Karen 24/05/2011 21:35

i just left  my tea leaf reader and got a twine of sage which i should light and walk around the house to clean and have positive energy 

Karen 's avatar  Karen 24/05/2011 21:35

i just left  my tea leaf reader and got a twine of sage which i should light and walk around the house to clean and have positive energy 

Rya 's avatar  Rya 15/05/2011 07:00

How can you use the sage?

Like you can only make teas?

Robert macDonald 's avatar  Robert macDonald 17/02/2011 16:29

my reason for asking was because I'm not sure if I should try making a tea incase I have a bad reaction

Robert macDonald 's avatar  Robert macDonald 17/02/2011 16:28

I've got the worst case of the runs ever and was wanting to try some sage tea. From your writing it seems to cleanse the gut or alimentary canal of harmful bacteria and parasites. I'm growing sage on my window sill I know it is also known as silvia and can produce a euphoric high if inhaled rather than ingested. Than again it can produce paranoid thoughts and hallucinations so maybe best to stir clear off.

Guest 's avatar  Guest 08/07/2014 11:43

Wrong Salvia dude. The one you are speaking of is now a controlled substance in many areas. Due to the problems with people like you wanting to use it for getting high. Not smart really. Nothing is so bad that you would need to escape it through a hallucinogen. Clear mind, Clear thoughts rule the day.
Peace

Guest 's avatar  Guest 25/10/2013 15:48

Robert Macdonald, Sage you buy for cooking, medicinal, menopause and general use etc. is Salvia Officinalis. The halluconegenic properties you describe are from a different plant entirely, Salvia divinorum. Please don't start scaremongering about paranoid thoughts etc. when you don't have the correct information.

Alex Cobb 's avatar  Alex Cobb 18/04/2014 02:16

You can smoke sage for euphoria too.

kz 's avatar  kz 12/02/2011 02:52

trying it now in conjunction with valerian for spasmodic cough will update!

kotaw 's avatar  kotaw 18/01/2011 21:08

i like this. works well.
but where are the resources for this so i can learn more about it...